Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Loading Events

« All Events

10/22 Cultivating Success™: Whole Farm Planning Courses Start

October 20 @ 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm

$125

Cultivating Success™: Whole Farm Planning

(Sustainable Small Farming & Ranching)

 

Statewide Offering – Tuesdays, 6:00pm to 8:30pm

 

Fall/Winter 2020 Whole Farm Planning Course Description

We’ll cover a broad overview of production and marketing options for today’s small farm! Whether you are just exploring the opportunities available or already have an existing operation, you’ll learn what it takes to create, sustain, and grow a viable small farm.

  • $125 for a 9-week course offered fully online through Zoom!
  • Starts October 20th running through December 15th, 2020 (with a break November 3rd).
  • Class meets every Tuesday from 6:00pm to 8:30pm.
  • Scholarships are available for Military Veterans and anyone for which the course fee is a barrier.
  • ¡Curso traducido al Español! This course will be offered with Spanish language interpretation and facilitation.

Cultivating Success™: Whole Farm Planning is a 9-week, step-by-step course, to help you prepare a well thought out plan for your land, life, and farm business. Learn how to use a whole systems lens to create a living plan for your small farm future. Classes will meet weekly through Zoom, in an online classroom environment. You will be able to connect to a collective statewide cohort for main topics and lectures from experts in sustainable practices, direct market farming, value-added processing, integrated pest management, livestock, and more! Opportunities for discussion and community building in smaller regionally based groups with local farmers and ranchers. Come build a solid network and a whole farm plan that suites you.

 

Course Locations & Facilitator Contacts:

For general questions or statewide information and assistance contact Nicole Witham – nwitham@wsu.edu          

*Note: Students do not have to be located in these locations in order to enroll. Please select the course nearest you. ¡Curso traducido al Español! The Spanish Speaking Cohort is available statewide as well.

Course Location: Facilitator: Email:
Clallam County Kellie Henwood kellie.henwood@wsu.edu
Clark County Terry Koper Teresa.Koper@clark.wa.gov
Colville Reservation Linda Mclean ljmclean@wsu.edu
Grays Harbor County Kiley Smith kiley.smith2@wsu.edu
Jefferson County Kellie Henwood kellie.henwood@wsu.edu
Kalispel Reservation ? Nancy Deringer?
Kitsap County Kellie Henwood kellie.henwood@wsu.edu
Klickitat County Hannah Brause hannah.brause@wsu.edu
Mason County Kendall Carman kendall.carman@wsu.edu
Okanogan County Kayla Wells kayla.wells@wsu.edu 
San Juan County Kate Mikulak kathryn.mikulak@wsu.edu
Skagit County Kate Smith kate.smith@wsu.edu
Skamania County Hannah Brause hannah.brause@wsu.edu
Spokane County Pat Munts pmunts@spokanecounty.org
Statewide – En Español Spanish Speaking Cohort Marilu Fernandez Silva m.fernandezsilva@wsu.edu
Wahkiakum County Carrie Backman carrie.backman@wsu.edu

Course Dates – Fall/Winter 2020:

  • Class begins October 20th running through December 15th, 2020 with a break November 3rd.
  • Class meets every Tuesday from 6:00pm to 8:30pm.

Course Objective:

  • To gain knowledge of the practical aspects of whole farm planning for a wide variety of enterprises
  • To gain an understanding of the various components of sustainable small-scale farming systems
  • To gain skills in assessing the feasibility of developing a viable, sustainable, small-scale farming enterprise including how to evaluate personal and family goals, evaluate land and personal resources, and improve environmental outcomes
  • To learn about available resources and support networks for sustainable farming in Skagit
  • To develop a whole farm plan that meets social, environmental, and financial goals

This course builds on the foundational elements of Cultivating Success™:

  • Farmer Mentorship
  • Experiential Learning
  • Community Place-Based
  • Whole Systems Thinking
  • Small Farms Focused

 

Course Text:

  • Market Farming Success – By: Lynn Bycznski
  • The New Organic Grower – By: Elliot Coleman
  • Additional resources and reading materials provided on password protected course website

Course Format:

  • Online classroom environment through Zoom platform.
  • Students access course syllabus, calendar, and learning modules through password protected website.
  • Class meets every Tuesday from 6:00pm to 8:30pm.
    • Zoom Classroom Opens at 6:00pm
    • Statewide lecture begins at 6:10pm
    • Transition into Regional Breakout Rooms 7:10pm
    • Break (online potluck) 7:15pm to 7:30pm
    • Regional Breakout Room Discussions and Networking 7:30pm
    • Class Ends 8:30pm

Details

Date:
October 20
Time:
6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Cost:
$125
Website:
https://foodsystems.wsu.edu/whole-farm-planning/

Organizers

WSU Food Systems
WSU Extension